At last, TN govt announces film awards

After a long gap of eight years, Tamil Nadu government on Thursday night announced State Film Awards from years 2009 to 2014.

The government order had a list of awards under about 30 categories for each year, for categories such as Best Film, Actor, Actress, Music director, Script-writer and Playback singer etc.

2009: ‘Pasanga’ is the Best Film, Karan Best Actor for his role in ‘Malayan’, Padmapriya Best Actress for ‘Pokkisham’ and Vasanthabalan Best Director for ‘Angaadi Theru’.

2010: ‘Maina’ is Best Film, Vikram Best Actor for ‘Ravanan’, Amala Paul Best Actress for ‘Mynaa’ and Prabhu Solomon Best Director for ‘Mynaa’.

2011: ‘Vaagai Soodavaa’ Best Film, Vimal Best Actor, Iniya Best Actress (both for ‘Vaagai Soodavaa’), and A L Vijay Best Director for ‘Deiva Thirumagal’.

2012: ‘Vazhakku Enn 18/9’ Best Film, Jiiva Best Actor for ‘Needhaane En Pon Vasantham’, Lakshmi Menon Best Actress for ‘Kumki’ and ‘Sundarapandian’ and Balaji Sakthivel Best Director for ‘Vazhakku Enn 18/9’.

2013: ‘Ramanujan’ Best Film, Arya and Nayantara are Best Actor and Best Actress for ‘Raja Rani’ and Ram Best Director for ‘Thanga Meengal’.

2014: ‘Kutram Kadithal’ Best Film, Siddharth Best Actor for ‘Kaaviya Thalaivan’, Aishwarya Rajesh Best Actress for ‘Kaakkaa Muttai’, and Raghavan Best Director for ‘Manjappai’.